Skip to main content



Due to the generosity of its alumni, the Department of Philosophy is annually able to award scholarships to highly qualified philosophy majors.

Daniel B. Purinton Scholarship
Each year, the department awards up to three Daniel B. Purinton Philosophy Scholarships. Recipients typically receive $3,000.00 each and are selected on the basis of demonstrated academic ability and motivation in the field of Philosophy.

2019 - 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Soofia Lateef

Soofia Lateef is pursuing a dual degree in Philosophy and Chemical Engineering. She is from Bridgeport, WV and aims to become a philosophy professor. Passionate about helping people learn, she tutors for the philosophy department. She is a winner of the WVU In-House Philosophy Conference where she presented her paper, “Making Sense of Nietzsche’s Amor Fati”. Her hobbies include backpacking, sewing, and cooking.

Iain MacKay is a senior Philosophy and Art History major with a minor in History. He is a Gilman Scholar, Eberly Scholar, and has written a winning paper for the WVU Philosophy Conference. He plans to acquire a doctorate in Art History and teach higher education. Iain enjoys the vibrant debates Philosophy sparks and can often be found in the Philosophy lounge, where he is also a tutor.

Logan Wotring

Logan Wotring is a senior undergraduate student pursuing a dual degree in English and Philosophy. A member since his sophomore year, he is the President of the WVU Philosophy Club, where he facilitates bringing students into the local philosophical community as well as hosting a symposium for 21st century thought. He is a member of Sigma Tau Delta—an English honor society—and has submitted a winning philosophy paper to the WVU In-House Conference. He works as a tutor for the Philosophy Department as well as a server at a local restaurant. Logan enjoys whitewater kayaking, playing billiards, and reading.